South Sudan

South Sudan’s national flag. Also the flag of the SPLM/SPLA.


Official name: Republic of South Sudan (RSS)

Capital: Juba (Proposed new capital Ramciel)

Founded: 9 July 2011

Official language: English

Dialing code: +211

Domain Name: .ss

Time Zone: East Africa Time (UTC+3)

Currency: South Sudanese pound (SSP)




Area: 619,745 km2


South Sudan is a landlocked country in east-central Africa.

However, South Sudan is classified as part of the North Africa

subregion by the United Nations (UN).

Bordering Countries

• Central African Republic (682 km)
• Democratic Republic of Congo) (628 km)
• Ethiopia (883 km)
• Kenya (232 km)
• Sudan (1,937 km approx.)
• Uganda (435 km)



• 2011 | 10,314,021 Source: World Bank estimate
• 2008 | 8,260,490 Source: Disputed Census


• President: Salva Kiir Mayardit (SPLM)
• Vice President: Mr James WANI IGGA

Government - 31 July 2013

Ministry of Cabinet Affairs

- Minister : Hon Martin Elia Lomuro

Ministry of Defence and Veteran Affairs

- Minister : Hon Kuol Manyang Juuk

Ministry of Justice

- Minister : XXXX

Deputy Minister : Hon Paulino Wanawilla Onango

Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation

- Minister : Hon. Dr. Barnaba Marial Benjamin

Minister in the Office of the President

- Minister : XXXX

Minister in the Office of the President for National Security service

- Minister : Hon Obutu Mamur Mete

Ministry of Interior and Wildlife Conservation

- Minister : Hon Aleu Ayieny Aleu

Ministry of Finance, Commerce, and Economic Planning

- Minister : Hon. Aggrey Tisa Sabuni

Ministry of Labour, Public Service and Human Resource Development

- Minister : Hon Ngor Kolong Ngor

Ministry of Health

- Minister : Hon Dr. Riek Gai Kok

Ministry of Information and Broadcasting

- Minister : Hon Micheal Makuei Lueth

Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry, Tourism, Animal Resources and Fisheries

- Minister : Hon Beda Machar Deng

Ministry of Education, Science and Technology

- Minister : Hon John Gai Yoah

Ministry of Lands, Housing and Physical Planning

- Minister : Hon Chatherine Juan Bennia

Ministry of Electricity, Dams, Irrigation and water Resources

- Minister : Hon Jemma Nunu Kumba

Ministry of Transport, Roads and Bridges

- Minister : Hon Kuong Danhier Gatluak

Ministry of Petroleum, Mining and Industries

- Minister : Hon Stephen Dhieu Dau

Ministry of Environment

- Minister : Hon Abdalla Deng Nhial

Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sports

- Minister : Hon Nadia Arop Dudi

Ministry of Gender, Child and Social Welfare

- Minister : Hon Awut Deng Acuil

Ministry of Telecommunication and Postal Services

- Minister : Hon Rebecca Josua Okwachi

National Legislative Assembly

• Speaker: RT. Hon Manasseh Magok Rundial

Ruling Party: Sudan People’s Liberation Movement (SPLM)

Military: Sudan People’s Liberation Army (SPLA)


The Republic of South Sudan became independent from Sudan on 9 July 2011 after a referendum in January that year, which was secured as part of the 2005 Comprehensive Peace Agreement.

• 9 July 2011 | Republic of South Sudan
• 9 July 2005 | Semi-autonomous Government of South Sudan (GoSS)
• 9 Jan. 2005 | Comprehensive Peace Agreement (CPA)
• 1 Jan. 1956 | Independence from the Anglo-Egyptian condominium as part of Sudan

South Sudan’s Regions and States

Greater Equatoria

• Central Equatoria State (CES)
• Eastern Equatoria State (EES)
• Western Equatoria State (WES)

Greater Upper Nile

• Jonglei State
• Unity State
• Upper Nile State

Greater Bahr el Ghazal

• Lakes State
• Northern Bahr el Ghazal State (NBEG)
• Warrap State
• Western Bahr el Ghazal State (WBEG)

Disputed Areas

• Abyei (Sudan)
• Heglig / Panthou (Sudan)
• Ilemi Triangle (Kenya)
• Jau / Jaw / Jao (Sudan)
• Kafia Kingi /Hofrat Al-Nuhas (Sudan)
• Kaka Al-Tigaria
• Mile 14 (Sudan)

Dernière modification : 15/10/2013

top of the page